Australian Online Stamp Catalogue
Proudly Sponsored by Michael Dodd of CDD Stamps
   Welcome Page      Territories
The Australian Commonwealth Territories are islands that fell under the protection of the Commonwealth of Australia, they were the A.A.T. or Australian Antarctic Territory; Christmas Island; the Cocos (Keeling) Island; Norfolk Island and Papua New Guinea.
The Australian Antarctic Territory (AAT) is a part of Antarctica. It was claimed by the United Kingdom and placed under the authority of the Commonwealth of Australia in 1933.
The Territory of Christmas Island is a territory of Australia in the Indian Ocean.
The Territory of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands, also called Cocos Islands and Keeling Islands, is a territory of Australia, located in the Indian Ocean, southwest of Christmas Island and approximately midway between Australia and Sri Lanka.

Norfolk Island is a small island in the Pacific Ocean located 1,412 kilometres directly east of mainland Australia's Evans Head, and about 900 kilometres (560 mi) from Lord Howe Island. The island is part of the Commonwealth of Australia. Together with two neighbouring islands, it forms one of Australia's external territories. In 1901, the island became a part of the Commonwealth of Australia which it has remained until this day.

Papua New Guinea established its sovereignty in 1975 following 70 years of Australian administration. (so only stamps until that date are listed on the website.)