Australian Online Stamp Catalogue
Proudly Sponsored by Michael Dodd of CDD Stamps
Tasmanian Issues (Van Diemen's Land)
Van Diemen's Land was discovered by Abel Tasman, the island has an area of almost 7,000,000 hectacres, the British took possession of the island in 1803 and established a settlement on the Derwent River, (again as a penal settlement), convicts arrived in the settlement until 1853, the island became a separate colony in 1825, then the name was changed to Tasmania in 1856, as with the other States, Tasmania became a member of the Commonwealth of Australia in 1901.
The first postage stamps were issued on 1 November, 1853.
Tasmanian State Issues
By Year of Release

Under construction